Special Initiatives

Gabriel Myers Work Group

Member Bio

Rajiv Tandon, MD

Rajiv Tandon, MD, is currently a Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Florida College of Medicine in Gainesville. He was a faculty member at the Department of Psychiatry in the University of Michigan Medical Center, Ann Arbor, from 1987-2004, where he was a tenured Professor of Psychiatry and subsequently he was the Chief of Psychiatry in the Program of Mental Health at the State of Florida Department of Children and Families.

He has been a member of the Scientific Council of the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill since 2000 and was on the Board of Directors of the National Schizophrenia Foundation from 1998-2007 (Chair 2002-2005). He was a member of State of Michigan Mental Health Commission in 2003-2004. He was a member of the State of Florida Supreme Court Commission on Mental Health (2007), a member of the State of Florida Blueprint Commission on Juvenile Justice (2007-2009), and a member of the Medical Directors’ Board, National Association of State Mental Health Program Directors (NASMHPD) from 2005-2008. He is a member of the DSM-V Workgroup on Schizophrenia and other Psychotic Disorders and a member of the World Psychiatry Association Section on Pharmacopsychiatry.

His major areas of clinical and research interest are the neurobiology of schizophrenia, psychopathology of schizophrenia, neuropharmacology of schizophrenia, and the evidence-based treatment of schizophrenia and other major mental disorders.

Dr. Tandon has authored more than 250 scientific publications, and given over 600 scientific presentations. He has received several awards for research and teaching in schizophrenia, including the American Psychiatric Association Young Psychiatrist of the Year award in 1993, the inaugural Gerald Klerman award for being the most outstanding NARSAD investigator in 1995, the FuturPsych award for outstanding achievement in schizophrenia research in 1998, and the NAMI Exemplary Psychiatrist in 2009. He has been included in every edition of THE BEST DOCTORS IN AMERICA since 1995.