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The Department of Children and Families (DCF) determines eligibility for public assistance programs in 
Florida.  Federal regulations, Florida Statute and Administrative Rule contain specific policies for 
eligibility.  The Family-Related Medicaid Programs Fact Sheet is intended to provide a general description 
and explanation of the Family-Related Medicaid Programs.  Note: Eligibility standards change annually. 
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The Department of Children and Families determines eligibility for Medicaid.  Medicaid may be authorized 
for up to three months prior to the date of application provided an applicant has unpaid medical bill(s) for 
one or more of the three months preceding the month of application.  This is known as retroactive Medicaid.  
A notice of case action (NOCA) is mailed to the individual with information about the eligibility determination. 
 
Individuals potentially eligible for Family-Related Medicaid include: 

 Pregnant Women 

 Parents and other Caretaker Relatives 

 Infants under age 1 

 Children under age 19 

 Children age 19 up to 21 

 Former Foster Care Children age 18 up to 26 – There is no income test for this group; 
however, the individual must have received Florida Medicaid when they aged out of foster care 
at age 18 in Florida as confirmed by the Office of Child Welfare. 

 
The Family-Related Medicaid Income Limits chart is located at: 
http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/docs/esspolicymanual/a_07.pdf  
 
Individuals may apply for Medicaid: 
 

 On-line at the DCF/ACCESS Florida website at: http://www.myflorida.com/accessflorida/  

 On-site at a DCF/ESS Customer Service Center.  To locate a service center, “Select a County” 
from the “ACCESS Service Center Locations” option at: 
http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/map.shtml  

 On-site through a member of the DCF Community Partner Network.  Community partners are 
listed at: http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/access/CPSLookup/search.aspx 

 By submitting a paper application, which may be requested by calling 1-866-762-2237, and 
submitting it in person, by mail or fax.  Customer Service Center locations and fax numbers 
can be found at: http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/map.shtml 

 
An individual must create a MyACCESS Account to submit an online application, report a change, submit a 
renewal or review benefit information at: http://www.myflorida.com/accessflorida/. This website is 
available 24 hours a day 7 days a week.  After registering, customers can: 
 

 Check on the status of an application or renewal  

 View a list of items needed to process the application or renewal 

 View when the next renewal is scheduled  

 Upload and view verification documents 

 View the share of cost amount if enrolled in the Medically Needy Program 

 Print a temporary Medicaid card 
 
Information may also be accessed by calling the ACCESS Response Unit (ARU) an automated 
response system available by phone at 1-866-762-2237. 
 
Medicaid coverage is authorized for 12 months and to continue receiving coverage, a renewal must be 
completed annually.  Applicants and recipients are required to report changes that may affect their eligibility 
for benefits within 10 days.  Examples of changes affecting eligibility include:  

 Pregnancy  

 Birth of a child  

 Receipt of new or increased earnings 

http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/docs/esspolicymanual/a_07.pdf
http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/map.shtml
http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/access/CPSLookup/search.aspx
http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/map.shtml


 

 3 

 Termination of employment  

 Arrival or departure of members of the household  

 Changes in living arrangement  

 Address  

 Relocation to another state 
 
Community Partner Network 
 
The Community Partner Network allows coordination and communication between partner and government 
agencies, community organizations and other entities.  Agencies, organizations and entities may contact a 
Community Partner Liaison to assist with inquiries about the ACCESS Program or to become a community 
partner.  A Community Partner Liaison acts as a point of contact for the ACCESS Program, and provides 
trainings and other informational program brochures and forms.  The Community Partner Liaison for each 
county can be found at: http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/liaisons.shtml.

http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/liaisons.shtml
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Overview of General Eligibility Requirements for Family-Related Medicaid 
 
Applicants for Medicaid must be US citizens or qualified noncitizens, must be Florida residents, and must 
provide social security numbers to facilitate data matching.  Most factors of eligibility may be verified 
electronically via the Federal Data Services Hub (FDSH).  Self-attestation is accepted for the majority of 
eligibility factors; however, a reasonable explanation and/or documentation may be requested to clarify 
questionable information or resolve inconsistencies. 
 
Applicants for Medicaid must file for all benefits to which they may be entitled including pensions, Social 
Security and Medicare.  Cooperation with Child Support Enforcement must be agreed to during the 
application process and completed after the eligibility process.  Income from wages and self-employment 
are considered earned income in Medicaid programs.  Some examples of unearned income include 
alimony, Reemployment Assistance (aka Unemployment Compensation), and Social Security benefits.  
Earned income as well as specific unearned income types are included in the benefit determination.  Assets 
such as bank accounts, mutual funds, vehicles and homestead property will not be counted for Family-
Related Medicaid coverage groups. 
 
Family-Related Medicaid eligibility is based on the expected tax filing status for each individual.  The 
household’s countable income, after any allowable tax deductions, must be less than or equal to the 
applicable income limit. 
 
In general, households whose income exceeds the limits for the Family-Related Medicaid will be enrolled in 
the Medically Needy Program, unless a more beneficial coverage group exists.  Individuals enrolled in the 
Medically Needy Program, who do not qualify for regular Medicaid, may be referred to the Federally 
Facilitated Marketplace (FFM) or Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP).  See page seven (7) 
for additional information on the FFM and CHIP. 
 
Descriptions of Family-Related coverage groups that are available and the eligibility requirements specific to 
each will be addressed on the following pages. 
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Presumptive Eligibility 
 
Presumptive Eligibility by Hospitals – Florida Medicaid enrolled qualified hospital providers may 
elect to make presumptive determinations based on federal law and state policy for specific groups of 
individuals including: 
 

 Pregnant Women 

 Parents and other Caretaker Relatives 

 Infants under age 1 

 Children under age 19 

 Former Foster Care Children age 18 up to 26 – There is no income test for this group; 
however, the individual must have received Florida Medicaid when they aged out of foster care 
in Florida. 

 
The presumptive period begins with the date the eligibility determination is completed by qualified 
hospital staff and extends up to one additional month or until an application received for regular 
Medicaid coverage is approved or denied by the Department of Children and Families. 
 
Hospitals are required to assist individuals determined presumptively eligible in completing an 
application for regular Medicaid. 
 
Presumptive Eligibility for Pregnant Women (PEPW) – PEPW provides temporary Medicaid to 
pregnant women and immediate access to prenatal care.  County Health Departments, Regional 
Perinatal Intensive Care Centers (RPICC), Federally Qualified Health Centers, Maternal and Infant 
Care Projects, Children’s Medical Services (CMS) as well as some hospitals and hospital affiliated 
clinics determine eligibility for PEPW.  Pregnant women with household income less than or equal to 
185% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) may be eligible for coverage.  Citizenship and noncitizen 
status are not factors for eligibility.  The presumptive period begins with the date the eligibility 
determination is completed by the Qualified Designated Provider (QDP) and extends up to one 
additional month or until an application for regular Medicaid coverage is approved or denied by the 
Department of Children and Families.  PEPW covers outpatient prenatal care only. 
 
Presumptive Eligibility for Newborns – A child born to a mother, who is Medicaid eligible, on the 
date of the infant’s birth, remains Medicaid eligible through the month of his or her first birthday, 
unless born on the first of the month.  If the infant was born on the first of the month, eligibility under 
this coverage group ends on the last day of the month prior to the first birthday. 
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Family-Related Medicaid Coverage Groups 
 
 

Coverage for Pregnant Women 
 
Pregnant women may qualify for Medicaid if the household’s countable income does not exceed the 
income limit for the program.  Medicaid is provided for the pregnant woman for the duration of her 
pregnancy and two months post-partum. 
 
 

Coverage for Parents and Other Caretaker Relatives 
 
Parents and other caretaker relatives may be eligible for Medicaid.  Parents and other caretaker 
relatives must have at least one minor child in the home, or be pregnant, to receive Medicaid if they 
otherwise meet the program’s eligibility criteria.  Parents and caretaker relatives, including their 
spouses, must be within the specified degree of relationship.  This includes natural, biological, step or 
adoptive parents, siblings, first cousins, nephews, nieces, aunts, uncles, grandparents, and 
individuals of preceding generations as denoted by prefixes of great, and great-great. 
 
Once the last child in the household turns 18 years of age, the parent(s) or other caretaker relative 
loses eligibility for coverage in Family-Related Medicaid. 
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Family-Related Medicaid Coverage Groups 
 
 

Coverage for Children 
 
Infants under age 1 – A newborn child is presumed eligible for Medicaid through the birth month of the 
following year when born to a mother eligible for Medicaid on the date of the child’s birth.  If the infant was 
born on the first of the month, eligibility under this coverage group ends on the last day of the month 
prior to the first birthday. 
 
Children under age 19 – Medicaid may be provided to individuals under age 19, who are unmarried, not 
legally emancipated, or whose marriage was annulled. 
 
Children Under 19 Living with Non-relatives – A non-relative may be a representative of an 
orphanage, a private adoption agency, or group home that is not state funded or may be a relative 
that is not within the specified degree of relationship to the child.  Coverage is for the child only and 
only the child’s income is considered. 
 
Children 19 up to 21 Years Old – Medicaid may be provided to individuals who are 19 and 20 years 
old who are unmarried or whose marriage was annulled.  Household income for the 19 and 20 year 
old must be below the payment standard and coverage is for the child only. 
 
Former Foster Care Children – Individuals who are under age 26 may receive Medicaid if they were 
in foster care under the responsibility of the state and receiving Florida Medicaid when they aged out 
of foster care.  There is no income limit for this coverage group. 
 
Continuous Medicaid Eligibility – Children under age five who become ineligible for Medicaid for 
any reason, may remain on Medicaid for up to twelve months from the last application.  Children age 
five to 19 may receive a minimum of six months of continuous coverage. 
 
Children who do not qualify for Medicaid under any of these coverage groups may be referred to the 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) or referred to the Federally Facilitated Marketplace 
(FFM). 
 
Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) – Program provides medical coverage for children 
under age 19 whose household income is above the Medicaid income limit.  The household is 
responsible to pay a monthly premium for coverage.  Additional information regarding CHIP is 
available at: http://www.floridakidcare.org/  
 
Federally Facilitated Marketplace (FFM) – The Federally Facilitated Marketplace (FFM) is an online 
marketplace to assist individuals applying for a qualified health insurance plan.  Individuals may 
qualify for Advance Premium Tax Credits (APTCs) to help pay health insurance premiums.  
Individuals will be referred to the FFM if they are determined over income for Family-Related 
Medicaid.  Additional information regarding the FFM is available at: http://healthcare.gov 
 
Children's Medical Services Network (CMS) – This program will provide case management 
services to eligible children from birth through age 18 who have special behavioral or physical health 
needs or have a chronic medical condition.  Additional information regarding CMS is available at: 
http://www.cms-kids.com/families/families.html 

http://www.floridakidcare.org/
http://healthcare.gov/
http://www.cms-kids.com/families/families.html
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Medically Needy 
 
The Medically Needy Program helps individuals and pregnant women who would qualify for Medicaid 
except for having income that exceeds the program income limit.  The Modified Adjusted Gross 
Income (MAGI) is used to determine an individual’s share of cost.  Verification of income must be 
received to accurately determine the amount of an individual’s share of cost. 
 
Individuals enrolled in Medically Needy may have a monthly “share of cost”, which is similar to an 
insurance deductible.  The share of cost amount varies depending on the household’s size and 
income.  Paid and/or unpaid medical bills must be provided to the Department of Children and 
Families to determine if the share of cost has been met.  Once a bill is used to meet share of cost, it 
cannot be used again to meet the share of cost in another month.  The portion of a bill that is paid by 
Medicare, or other private health insurance, cannot be used to meet the share of cost. 
 
Medicaid cards are not issued to individuals who have a share of cost.  Proof of eligibility will be made 
available on the MyACCESS Account once outstanding medical bills are tracked and the share of 
cost has been met. 
 
Medical expenses eligible for Medicaid payment may be paid, unpaid and still owed, incurred up to 
three months prior to date of application, and not subject to third party payment.  Paid and unpaid bills 
are tracked according to the date of service.  Medicaid is authorized from the date the share of cost is 
met through the end of the same month.  Any outstanding medical bills must be faxed to the local 
ACCESS Case Maintenance Unit for tracking.  An individual may find contact information for their 
local ACCESS Case Maintenance Unit at: http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/map.shtml. 
 
The Medically Needy Brochure can be found on the Department’s Forms and Brochures website at: 
http://www.myflfamilies.com/service-programs/access-florida-food-medical-assistance-
cash/brochures. 

 
 

Emergency Medical Assistance for Noncitizens 
 
Noncitizens who meet all Medicaid eligibility requirements except for citizenship status may be 
eligible for Medicaid to cover medical emergencies, including the birth of a child. 
 
The noncitizen must file a complete Medicaid application and provide verifications as requested.  A 
social security number and cooperation with Child Support Enforcement are not required. 
 
Before Medicaid is authorized, applicants must provide proof from a medical professional that the 
treatment was due to a medical condition of sufficient severity (including severe pain) that could result 
in placing the individual’s health in serious jeopardy and the date(s) of the emergency.  In the case of 
labor and delivery there is no post-partum coverage.  Medicaid can be approved only for the date(s) 
of the emergency.  Generally, hospitals forward a Medical Assistance Referral form (CF-ES 2039) to 
the Department of Children and Families to initiate an Emergency Medical Assistance for Noncitizens 
(EMA) determination. 
 
Noncitizens in the United States for a temporary reason, such as tourists or those traveling for 
business or pleasure, are not eligible for Emergency Medical Assistance for Noncitizens (EMA), or 
any other Medicaid benefits. 

http://www.dcf.state.fl.us/programs/access/map.shtml
http://www.myflfamilies.com/service-programs/access-florida-food-medical-assistance-cash/brochures
http://www.myflfamilies.com/service-programs/access-florida-food-medical-assistance-cash/brochures
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Information about your Medicaid Benefits 
 
The Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) administers Medicaid services in Florida.  To 
obtain information regarding Medicaid services and providers in your area, or for questions regarding 
claims or billing, please visit your Area Medicaid Office website at: 
http://www.ahca.myflorida.com/MCHQ/Field_Office_Info.shtml 
 
The Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) contracts with a fiscal agent to assist Medicaid 
recipients in choosing a managed care plan, enrolling in a new plan, or changing plans.  Specialists 
assist customers with understanding the differences in plan benefits.  Visit the Medicaid Options or 
Choice Counseling website at: 
http://ahca.myflorida.com/Medicaid/medicaid_reform/beneficiary/index.shtml  
 
Beginning January 2016, the Agency for Health Care Administration (AHCA) implemented an 
Express Enrollment program for individuals applying to receive Medicaid.  Individuals 
receiving/eligible to receive medical services through the Managed Medical Assistance (MMA) 
program, must enroll in a health plan.  The Express Enrollment program allows individuals to choose 
a health plan when a Medicaid application is submitted through the Department of Children and 
Families.  Plan selection can be completed at: http://www.smmcexpressenrollment.com or by calling 
1-877-711-3662.  If a plan is not selected, AHCA will automatically assign individuals to a health plan 
once they are determined to be Medicaid eligible.  After enrollment, individuals will have 120 days to 
choose a different plan in their region. 
 
For more information about express enrollment, please visit the express enrollment website at: 
http://ahca.myflorida.com/medicaid/statewide_mc/express_enroll.shtml  
 

The Department of Children and Families (DCF) can process a request to replace a Medicaid card.  
To report a lost or stolen Medicaid card, SSI recipients may contact 1-866-762-2237.  Customers may 
request replacement Medicaid cards through their My ACCESS Account at: 
http://www.myflorida.com/accessflorida/ 
 
The Social Security Administration (SSA) is responsible for specific benefits such as Social Security 
Retirement and Disability payments, Supplemental Security Income (SSI), Extra Help with Medicare 
Prescription Drug Plan costs, etc.  For information, to apply, or report changes, call the Social 
Security Administration (SSA) at 1-800-772-1213 or visit the SSA website at: http://www.ssa.gov/ 
 
Medicare is a federal health insurance program that includes hospital insurance (Part A), medical 
insurance (Part B), Medicare HMO plans (Medicare Advantage), and Medicare prescription drug 
plans (Part D).  For information about Medicare coverage, call 1-800-633-4227 or visit the Medicare 
website at: http://www.medicare.gov 
 
Primary Care Centers provide services to the uninsured on a sliding fee scale.  To obtain low cost 
primary care in your local community, including pharmacy, dental, mental health and substance 
abuse services, visit the Health Resources and Services Administration website at: 
http://www.hrsa.gov/gethealthcare/index.html 

http://www.ahca.myflorida.com/MCHQ/Field_Office_Info.shtml
http://ahca.myflorida.com/Medicaid/medicaid_reform/beneficiary/index.shtml
http://www.smmcexpressenrollment.com/
http://ahca.myflorida.com/medicaid/statewide_mc/express_enroll.shtml
http://www.myflorida.com/accessflorida/
http://www.ssa.gov/
http://www.medicare.gov/
http://www.hrsa.gov/gethealthcare/index.html

