Resources for Youth

Northwest Region (1, 2, 14)

girl holding itcanbedone sign

Escambia, Okaloosa, Santa Rosa, Walton, Bay, Calhoun, Gulf, Holmes, Jackson, Washington, Franklin, Gadsden, Jefferson, Leon, Liberty and Wakulla counties.

Keys to Independence

The Florida Keys to Independence Act was signed into law in 2014. It is targeted at youth in licensed foster care between the ages of 15 to 21. Learn more.

Housing Opportunities

Big Bend CBC
Panama Commons (5 units)
1001 Sherman Ave.
Panama City, FL 32401

Edgewood (5 units)
3325 W 23rd St.
Panama City, FL 32405

Pana Villa (4 units)
1802 Flower Ave.
Panama City, FL 32405

Cottondale Village (4 units)
4052 Old Cottondale Rd.
Marianna, FL 32448

Graceland Manor (3 units)
5445 Brown St.
Graceville, FL 32440

Educational Resources

Equan Burrows
Program Coordinator, Fostering Achievement Fellowship
444 Appleyard Dr.
Tallahassee, FL 32304
850-201-9767 | burrowse@tcc.fl.edu

Demetriss Locke
Assistant Director, Office of University Retention
Florida A&M University
850-412-5916 | demetriss.locke@famu.edu

Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children

Families First Network
ICPC@bhcpns.org
Hollie Bell
Hollie.Bell@bhcpns.org
Office: 850-453-7745
Fax: 850-453-7763
Cell: 850-384-4213

Big Bend Community Based Care, Inc.
icpceast@bigbendcbc.org
Samone Brown
samone.brown@bigbendcbc.org
850-488-0506 ext. 2031
Cell: 850-443-7908

Big Bend Community Based Care, Inc.
icpcwest@bigbendcbc.org
Rene Merced
rmerced@bigbendcbc.org
850-747-5755 ext. 1761
Fax: 850-747-5898

Northwest Region Map

Independent Living Statewide Contacts

IL Champion: Kathi Guy
Kathi.Guy@myflfamilies.com
850-483-6672

C1: Melody Kohr
Families First Network
melody.kohr@bhcpns.org
850-437-8972

C2: Matt McKibbin
Big Bend CBC (East)
matt.mckibbin@bigbendcbc.org
850-488-0506

C14: Brandie McCabe
Big Bend CBC (West)
brandie.mccabe@bigbendcbc.org
850-747-5755 ext. 1132

Independent Living Attorneys

C1: Deedra Abernethy
Ft. Walton Beach
deedra.abernethy@myflfamilies.com
850-833-3832 ext. 134

C1: Laura Battaglia
Milton
Laura.Battaglia@myflfamilies.com
850-564-2059

C2: Amanda VanLaningham
Tallahassee
Amanda.vanlaningham@myflfamilies.com
850-922-5231 ext. 2258

C14: Patrick King
Panama City
Patrick.king@myflfamilies.com
850-972-7670 Ext. 119

Medicaid Contacts (Rev. Max.)

C1: Nancy Kirton
Families First Network
nancy.kirton@bhcpns.org
850-437-8889

C2 &14: Roshannon Jackson
Big Bend CBC
roshannon.jackson@bigbendcbc.org
850-488-0506 ext. 2237

Public Guardian Contact

Karen Campbell, Esq.
Karen.Campbell@bigbendopg.org
850-487-4609 ext. 103