Resources for Youth

Southeast Region (15, 17, 19)

girl holding itcanbedone sign

Palm Beach, Broward, Indian River, Martin, Okeechobee and St. Lucie counties.

Keys to Independence

The Florida Keys to Independence Act was signed into law in 2014. It is targeted at youth in licensed foster care between the ages of 15 to 21. Learn more.

Housing Opportunities

ChildNet/FLITE Center
Broward Gardens (10 units)
2960 NW 19th St.
Fort Lauderdale FL 33311

Dr. Kennedy Homes (7 units)
108 Palm Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33312

Progresso Point (4 units)
619 N Andrews Ave.
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311

Devereux
Pine Creek Village
Kimberly Clarke
Property Manager
1112 N. 29th St.
Fort Pierce, FL 34947
Contact Chris Martinez with Devereux CBC for referral 772-528-5178

East Village (8 units)
7481 NW 33rd St.
Hollywood, FL 33024

Good Samaritan Ministries
Vito Bitteto
772-398-0065
8282 Business Park Dr.
Port St. Lucie Fl 34952
Contact Chris Martinez with Devereux CBC for referral 772-528-5178

The Hammock at Stuart Apartments
Melanie Caglioni
701 SE Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd.
Stuart, Fl 34994
Contact Chris Martinez with Devereux CBC for referral 772-528-5178

Children's Home Society
Youth Transition Center
Nixalys Vega
772-778-6340
620 10th St.
Vero Beach Fl 32960

Hibiscus Children's Center
Licensed Group Home
Lou Bocabella
1145 12th St.
Vero Beach Fl 32960
772-299-6011

Educational Resources

Justin Crim
College Coach
Fostering College Achievement Program
Vita Nova, Inc.
1800 S. Australian Ave.
West Palm Beach, FL 33409
561-689-0035 ext. 305 | jcrim@vitanovainc.org

Jess E. Tuck, Ph.D.
Director, ACCESS Program & Title III Project Director
Florida Atlantic University
561-297-2072 | jtuck@fau.edu

Indian River State College
Contact Chris Martinez with Devereux CBC for assistance 772-528-5178

Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children

ChildNet, Inc. (Palm Beach)
PBCS@Childnet.us
Scott Giddens
sgiddens@childnet.us
Office: 561-352-2489
Fax: 561-352-2480

ChildNet, Inc.
Broward County Sheriff's Office
CS@Childnet.us
Racquel Garcia
RGarcia@ChildNet.us
954-414-6000 ext 5415 office
954-414-6019   fax

Southeast Region Map

Independent Living Statewide Contacts

IL Champion: Mark Holsapfel
Mark_Holsapfel@dcf.state.fl
954-331-3405

Independent Living Providers

C 15&17: Theresa Kennedy, ChildNet, Inc.
tkennedy@childnet.us
954-234-4571

C 15: Ted Ponto
ChildNet, Inc.
tponto@childnet.us
954-336-7819

C 17: Yasmin Mendoza
ChildNet, Inc.
ymendoza@childnet.us
954-540-5400

C 19: Denise Natalizio, Devereux
denise.natalizio@devereuxcbc.org
772-249-3197

Independent Living Attorneys

C 15: Karen Goddard
West Palm Beach
karen.goddard@myflfamilies.com
561-226-6620 AND

Joshua Smith
Joshua.smith@myflfamilies.com
561-227-6700

C 17: Phillippa “PJ” Hitchins
Ft. Lauderdale
phillippa.hitchins@myfloridalegal.com
954-712-4747 AND

Stacey Blume
Fort Lauderdale
Stacey.Blume@myfloridalegal.com
954-551-6125

C 19: Maryann Diaz
Stuart
Maryann.diaz@myflfamilies.com
772-403-6031

Medicaid Contacts (Rev. Max.)

C 15: Fran Smith
ChildNet
fsmith@childnet.us
561-352-2473

C 17: Yyone Cowan
ChildNet
ycowan@childnet.us
954-414-6000 ext. 3856

C 19: Sandra Schwartz
Devereux
sandra.schwartz@UFF.US
772-783-7800 ext. 8320

Employment

Career Source Research Coast
Deann Ferrell
Area Manager
Workforce Solutions Youth Connections
Treasure Coast Training Services 1305 44L7
584 NW University Blvd.
Ste. 300
Port Saint Lucie, FL 34986
Tel: 866-482-4473 x521

Healthcare

Treasure Coast Community Health
772-257-8224
Various Locations