Resources for Youth

Central Region (5, 9, 10, 18)

Citrus, Hernando, Lake, Marion, Sumter, Orange, Osceola, Seminole, Hardee, Highlands, Polk and Brevard counties.

Keys to Independence

The Florida Keys to Independence Act was signed into law in 2014. It is targeted at youth in licensed foster care between the ages of 15 to 21. Learn more.

Housing Opportunities

Heartland for Children
Sunrise Park (4 units)
105 Sunrise Pkwy
Lake Wales, FL 33853

Kids Central
Oakbrook Villas (4 units)
11703 SE 57th Ave.
Belleview, FL 34420

Rolling Hills (7 units)
11150 Rolling Hills Rd.
Dunnellon, FL 34431

CBC Central FL
Wentworth II (25 units)
10200 Dylan St.
Orlando, FL 32825

Walden Park (4 units)
2101 Walden Park Cir.
Kissimmee, FL 34744

Willow Lake (33 units)
500 Monica Rose Drive
Apopka, FL 32703

Wyndham Place (13 units)
1500 Wyndham Crest Blvd.
Sanford, FL 32773

Windchase (33 units)
100 Windchase Blvd.
Sanford, FL 32773

Educational Resources

Claudine Turner
Coordinator, Multicultural Academic & Support Services (MASS)
University of Central Florida
Student Union, Room 154, 12715 Pegasus Dr.
Orlando, FL 32816
407-823-2716 | Claudine.Turner@ucf.edu

Julie Falt
Academic Foundations
Santa Fe College
352-395-5967 | julie.falt@sfcc.edu

Tanya Fritz
Coordinator, First Generation Freshmen
Seminole State College of Florida
407-708-2897| fritzt@seminolestate.edu

Leslie Pendleton
Director, Florida Opportunity Scholars Program
University of Florida Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs
155 Tigert Hall
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-392-1265 | lesliep@ufsa.ufl.edu

Kenya Richardson
Financial Aid Manager
College Transition Programs
Valencia College
407-582-1120
krichardson21@valenciacollege.edu

Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children

Kids Central, Inc.
ICPC@kidscentralinc.org
Sherrie Duran
Sherrie.Duran@kidscentralinc.org
Office: 352-387-3453
Fax: 352-387-3559

Community Based Care of
Central Florida

ICPC@cbccfl.org
Shelly Dickey
shelly.dickey@cbccfl.org
Office: 407-268-9301
Cell: 407-230-0356
Fax: 407-324-7121

Heartland for Children
HFCICPC@heartlandforchildren.org
Jacqueline Perez
JPEREZ5@heartlandforchildren.org
863-519-8900 ext. 244

Community Based Care of Central Florida
ICPC@cbccfl.org
Shelly Dickey
shelly.dickey@cbccfl.org
Office: 407-268-9301
Fax: 407-324-7121

Brevard Family Partnership
ICPCdata@brevardfp.org
Ada Dieguez
ada.dieguez@brevardfp.org
Office: 321-752-4650 x3025
Fax: 321-752-4659

Central Region Map

Independent Living Statewide Contacts

IL Champion: Kristin Gray
Kristin.Gray@myflfamilies.com
407-317-7056

Public Guardian Contacts

Christina Rabago
Osceola
rabagoc@osceola-coa.com
407-846-8532

Jenny Shuff-Dowd
Orange and Seminole
jshuff-dowd@seniorsfirstinc.org
407-297-9980

Independent Living Attorneys

C5: Darlene Bell-Alexander
Ocala
Darlene.Bell-Alexander@myflfamilies.com
352-620-7598

C9: Jill (Fowler) Zivot
Orland
Jill.Zivot@myflfamilies.com
407-317-7417

C10: Rizpah Butler-Brannon
Bartow
Rizpah.Butler-Brannon@myflfamilies.com
863-578-1714

C18: Claire F. Oscar Dew
Sanford
Claire.dew@myflfamilies.com
407-328-5656

Independent Living Providers

C5: Lynne Hill
Kid's Central Inc.
Lynne.hill@kidscentralinc.org
352-387-3482

C9: CBC of Central Florida
IndependentLiving@cbccfl.org
407-304-8444

C10: Daniel Williams
Heartland for Children
DWILLI10@heartlandforchildren.org 863-519-8900, Ext 238

C18: Tammy Bousquet
Brevard Family Partnership
TammyBousquet@crosswindsyouthservices.org
321-452-0800, Ext. 165

Medicaid Contacts (Rev. Max.)

C5: Ellen Curtis
Kid's Central Inc.
ellen.cutis@kidscentralinc.org
352-387-3425

C10: Shibani Kyani
Heartland for Children
skyani@heartlandforchildren.org
863-519-8900 Ext. 257

C18: Carol Washburn
Brevard Family Partnership
Carol.Washburn@brevardfp.org
321-752-4650

C9: Stacey Peacock
CBCCFL
stacey.peacock@cbccfl.org
321-441-2060