Resources for Youth

SunCoast Region (6, 12, 13, 20)

girl holding itcanbedone sign

Hillsborough, Pasco, Pinellas, Sarasota, Manatee, DeSoto, Lee, Charlotte, Collier, Hendry and Glades counties.

Keys to Independence

The Florida Keys to Independence Act was signed into law in 2014. It is targeted at youth in licensed foster care between the ages of 15 to 21. Learn more.

Housing Opportunities

Camelot
Metro 510 (6 units)
510 East Harrison St.
Tampa, FL 33602

Desoto Housing Authority (SHIP) Contact: Peggy Waters (Social Services Director) Phone# 1-863-993-4858

CLASS Program Ages 18-23
Contact: Ellen McLauglin
Program Director-Homeless Youth
941-923-6100

Springboard Program for
Homeless Youth 18-22

Contact: Trisha Adams
Residential Manager
941-993-0023

Educational Resources

Cheryl Kerr
Program Director
Health Education Center
St. Petersburg College
727-341-3736 | Kerr.Cheryl@spcollege.edu

Crystal Maldonado
Coordinator
Student Leadership and Civic Engagement
Edison State College
239-489-9338 | Crystal.Maldonado@edison.edu

Adam Musolino
Associate Director
Office of New Student Programs and First Year Advising
Florida Gulf Coast University
McTarnaghan Hall 230
239-590-7893 | amusolin@fgcu.edu

Don Policella
Direction
Center for Child Welfare
University of South Florida
13301 Bruce B. Downs Blvd. MHC 2418
Tampa, FL 33612
813-974-8531 | DPolicella@usf.edu

Manatee Technical Institute (MTI)
Manatee County Vocational School

941-751-7900
Main Campus
6305 SR 70 East
Bradenton, Florida 34203

Sarasota County Technical Institute (SCTI)
941-924-1365
Main Campus: 4748 Beneva Road
Sarasota, Florida 34233

State College of Florida (SCF)
Manatee Campus: 941-752-5000
Lakewood Ranch: 941-363-7000
Venice: 941-408-1300

University of South Florida (USF)
University on the county line of Manatee/Sarasota
941-359-4200

Support Services

JOY (Joining our Youth)
Mentor group that provides starter kits for youth aging out of care.
Jo Evans 941-377-6833

Interstate Compact for the Placement of Children

Sarasota Family YMCA, Inc.
SouthICPC@thesarasotay.org
Theresa Voltolina
tvoltolina@thesarasotay.org
941-371-4799, ext. 183
Lucia Branton
lbranton@thesarasotay.org
941-371-4799, ext. 193
Cell: 941-809-4619

Eckerd Community Alternatives
of Hillsborough County

icpc@eckerdcbc-c13.org
Christopher Gray
Cgray@eckerdcbc-c13.org
813-471-0747, ext. 1287
Cell: 813-285-2328

Children's Network of SW Florida
oti@cnswfl.org
John C. Hicks
jhicks@cnswfl.org
Direct Line: 239-425-6325
Fax: 239-226-1115

SunCoast Region

Employment

Get to Work
Contact: Jan Vestal
941-447-6584 or jan.cgf@gmail.com

Career Source
(formerly Suncoast Workforce Board)
Manatee and Sarasota County
Manatee Office: 941-714-4779
Sarasota Office: 941-358-4200
Venice Office: 941-486-2682

Independent Living Statewide Contacts

IL Champion: Jennifer Kuhn
Jennifer.Kuhn@myflfamilies.com
813-458-8899

Public Guardian Contact

Tamara Cribben
866-92-Aging
tamaracribben@aging-solutions.org

Independent Living Attorneys

C6: Joann Lycett
Clearwater (SAO)
727-464-6221

C12: Kristin Allain
Sarasota
Kristin.Allain@myflfamilies.com
Phone 941-554-1713

C13: Bill Navas
Clearwater (OGA)
Bill.navas@myfloridalegal.com
813-272-0407, ext. 119

C20: Lane Elder
Ft. Meyers
Lane.Elder@myflfamilies.com
239-895-0148

Independent Living Providers

C6&13: Shalondra Young
Eckerd
syoung@eckerdcbc-c13.org
813-471-0747, ext. 1298

C12: Dave Luebcke
Sarasota Family YMCA
DLuebcke@thesarasotay.org
941-721-7670, ext. 203

C20: Cynthia Morant
Children’s Network of SW Florida
Cmorant@cnswfl.org
239-226-1524

Medicaid Contacts (Rev. Max.)

C6: Holly Way
Eckerd
hway@eckerd-eca.org
727-456-0600, ext. 2274

C13: Crystal McWilliams Eckerd
CMcWilliams@EckerdCBC-C13.org
813-471-0747, ext. 1201

C12: Charlene Brusoe
Sarasota Y
cbrusoe@thesarasotay.org
941-371-4799, ext. 182

C20: Marilyn Richards
Children’s Network of SWFL
mrichards@cnswfl.org
239-425-6335

Healthcare

Manatee County Rural Health Services
For our youth For more detailed information please follow the link: https://www.mcrhs.org/locations.php.