
Ifyou are retaliated against

If you are an employee of a state agency
and you disclose information under the
Whistle-blower's Act and that disclosure
results in alleged retaliation by an employer
in the form of an adverse personnel action,
you may file a written complaint with the
Florida Commission on Human Relations no
later than 60 days after the prohibited
personnel action. You can contact the
Commission by calling (800) 342-8170 or by
writing to the following address:

Florida Commission on Human Relations
2009 Apalachee Parkway
Suite 100
Tallahassee, Florida 32301

"State agency" or "agency" means any
official, officer, commission, board, authority,
council, committee, or department of the
executive branch of state government. For
purposes ofthis chapter and chapter 215,
"state agency" or "agency" includes, but is
not limited to, state attorneys, public
defenders, the capital collateral regional
counsels, the Justice Administrative
Commission, the Florida Housing Finance
Corporation, and the Florida Public Service
Commission.

Any other person protected by the Whistle-
blower's Act may, after exhausting all
available contractual or administrative
remedies, bring a civil action in any court of
competent jurisdiction within 180 days after
the action prohibited by the Whistle-blower's
Act.

State employees should contact the
Whistle-blower's hotline to report:

. Violations of law that present a clear
and present danger to the public's
health, safety, or welfare

. Gross mismanagement

. Gross waste of funds

. Gross neglect of duty

Whistle-blower's Hotline
Post Office Box 151
Tallahassee, Florida32302

(800) 543-5353 toll-free

(850) 922-1060 in Tallahassee

(850) 921-0817 facsimile
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The Whistle-blower's Act

State employees who blow the whistle on
fraud and abuse within state government are
protected by law. Sections 112.3187-
112.31895 of the Florida Statutes (F.S.)
constitute the law known as the "Whistle-
blower's Act." These and other Florida Statutes
can be viewed on the officialinternet site of the
Florida Legislature at www.leg.state.fl.us.

The legislative intent of the Whistle-blower's
Act is to prevent agencies or independent
contractors from taking retaliatory action
against an employee who reports agency
violations of law that create a substantial and
specific danger to the public's health, safety, or
welfare. It is also the intent of the legislature to
prevent agencies or independent contractors
from taking retaliatory action against an
employee who discloses information alleging
improper use of governmental office,gross
waste of funds, or any other abuse or gross
neglect of duty on the part of an agency, public
officer,or employee.

Why have a Hotline?
The Chief Inspector General is responsible

for promoting accountability, integrity, and
efficiency in state government. That
responsibility includes maintaining an in-state
toll-free whistle-blower's hotline, notifYing all
employees of the various state agencies of its
existence, and providing an address to which
whistle-blower information may be forwarded.

Who should call the Hotline?
State employees, formeremployees,and

applicants ofagencies or independent
contractors:

"Employee" means a person who performs
services for, and under the control and direction
of, or contracts with, an agency or independent
contractor for wages or other remuneration.

"Agency"means any state, regional, county, local,
or municipal government entity, whether
executive, judicial or legislative; any official,
officer, department, division, bureau,
commission, authority, or political subdivision
therein; or any public school, community college,
or state university.

[Note: For
disclosures
concerning a local
government entity,
including any regional,
county, or municipal
entity, special district,
community college district, or
school district or any political subdivision of any
of the foregoing, the information must be
disclosed to a chief executive officer as defined
in s. 447.203(9), F.S. or other appropriate
official.]

"Independent contractor" means a person,
other than an agency, engaged in any busi-
ness and who enters into a contract:, including
a provider agreement, with an agency.

What should be reported?
The Whistle-blower's Hotline is not for

general complaints or suggestions. Other means
are available for resolving personnel problems or
recommending cost-saving measures. This
hotline is reserved for reporting:

(a)Any violation or suspected violation of any
federal, state, or local law, rule, or regulation
committed by an employee or agent of an
agency or independent contractor which
creates and presents a substantial and specific
danger to the public's health, safety, or welfare.

(b)Any act or suspected act of gross
mismanagement, malfeasance, misfeasance,
gross waste of public funds, suspected or
actual Medicaid fraud or abuse, or gross
neglect of duty committed by an employee or
agent of an agency or independent contractor.

What happens when I call?
When you call the Whistle-blower's

Hotline we will take your information and
ask basic questions concerning your case.
Whether you call or write to the hotline, your
information will be reviewed to determine the

appropriate course of action. You will be
advised as soon as a decision is made.

How do you investigate?
When circumstances require

investigation, the Chief Inspector General or
agency inspector general will conduct a
thorough investigation and report its
findings. The whistle-blower has an
opportunity to attach comments to the final
report before it is sent to the Governor, the
investigating agency, the Joint Legislative
Auditing Committee and the Comptroller.

How are my rights protected?
When your information meets whistle-

blower criteria state law enables you to keep
your identity confidential, unless disclosure
is necessary to protect the public's health,
safety or welfare, or absolutely necessary or
unavoidable during the investigation. The
Whistle-blower's Act also protects you from
retaliatory action by your agency for

disclosing adverse
information.
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